Marriage Isn’t ALWAYS Pretty…

My husband… Y’all, let me tell you something about Love and marriage… It’s not always pretty!! Your spouse often sees the less glamorous side of you, through stress and sickness, mood swings and imperfections, yet they choose to love you anyway…

I used to want someone who thought I was Hott, or had a smoking body (which I no longer have), but now what really melts my butter is the fact that my man thinks I’m a good mom. He looks at me in adoration when I’m interacting with our children. He appreciates the fact that I can make a mean pot roast 😝 or that I really know how to organize a closet. These small mundane tasks that I take for granted, mean so much to him, and he never fails to let me know how much I’m appreciated…

When we do dress up to go out, he is proud as a peacock to have me on his arm…even though he woke up to my messy hair and morning breath, and knows what I look like without makeup 😖. He tells me I’m Hott even though my cellulite and stretch marks make me think differently. He also knows that 9 times out of 10 this flattery is getting him NOTHING with me, except for an eye roll and a big “Whatever” yet he tells me anyway, because it is important to him that I feel beautiful. This man works literally all day sometimes 7 days a week because it is important to him that I be home for our children, and that I have the opportunity to chase my dreams with Mary Kay…

Are we blissfully happy in every second of our marriage? 😂😂😂 No!!! However, I wouldn’t trade what we have for a farm in Georgia…even a really pretty one 😉. At some point in life, you have to realize what truly matters. Looks fade and sickness happens and when they do, who will be by your side?

7 comments

  1. Ma’am, you have brought out the very honest side of love and married life. Being only an eighteen-year old, I have the least knowledge about true love, but I know what it is actually like because I’ve grown up seeing my parents and grandparents so deep in love😄. I wish a very happy life to you in future and a lot of success. Keep writing more of such good stuff. 😙

    Like

Leave a comment